clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dosunmu named finalist for Naismith Trophy

He has a chance to be the first Illini ever to win it.

NCAA Basketball: Big Ten Conference Tournament-Rutgers vs Illinois Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

Prior to Friday’s start of the NCAA Tournament, Illinois’ Ayo Dosunmu got some good news.

The junior guard was named one of the four finalists for the 2021 Naismith Trophy, the most prestigious honor in college basketball.

No Illini has ever won the Naismith Trophy, but Dosunmu has a good shot at being the first. He’s already been named first-team All-American by every organization to date and garnered his first National Player of the Year award from USA Today.

Big Ten Player of the Year Luka Garza, top-ranked Gonzaga’s Corey Kispert, and projected No. 1 overall NBA Draft pick Cade Cunningham, of Oklahoma State, round out the finalists.

The winner will be announced live on CBS Sports Network on April 3, the same day as the Final Four.