clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ayo Dosunmu named Dike Eddleman Male Athlete of the Year

First basketball player since.... Deron.

NCAA Basketball: Iowa at Illinois Patrick Gorski-USA TODAY Sports

Ayo may never get to play in a tournament, but few will be as decorated as him.

Dosunmu picked up another honor Wednesday morning, becoming the first men’s basketball player since Deron Williams in 2005 to be named the Dike Eddleman Male Athlete of the Year.

We could list all the stats and accolades, but you know them. Led the team in scoring. All-Big Ten First Team. The savior. The game-winners.

He averaged 16.3 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game in his sophomore season. His shooting numbers were 48% from the field, 30% from three and 75% from the line.

Few basketball players have won the Athletic Department’s most prestigious award. Only Kendall Gill joins Deron and Ayo since 1990. Good company for the sophomore.

Ayo’s teammate Kofi Cockburn took home the department’s Freshman of the Year honor Tuesday.