clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois wins the Big Ten Championship

For the ninth time in 10 years, Illinois has won the Big Ten Championship.

Twitter: @IlliniMGolf

Nine conference championships in ten seasons. Can somebody say #GolfSchool?

Despite battling some colder temperatures and gusty winds in the final round, the Fighting Illini earned a 15-shot victory at the Baltimore Country Club in Maryland. Senior Nick Hardy lead the team with a total score of -6 for the week, which earned him individual medalist honors. Bryan Baumgarten and Michael Feagles all finished at +2 for the week, and Dylan Meyer shot +3 to round out the top four individual scores for the Illini.

We talked with Head Coach Mike Small at the beginning of the 2017-18 season, and his squad has had its focus on this part of the year since day one:

“We have three seasons with our team. We have the fall season, the spring season, and the championship season. Everything we do in the fall and the spring builds up to the championship season, and it’s what we look forward to as a team.”

The NCAA regional selection show is May 2 at 5:30 p.m. on Golf Channel, and we will find out where the guys are headed next!