clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois guard Malcolm Hill named to Second Team All-Big Ten after stellar regular season

Hill would’ve been a First Team selection had Illinois won more games.

NCAA Basketball: Northwestern at Illinois Mike Granse-USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten announced their annual All-Conference selections on Monday night, and as expected, Fighting Illini guard Malcolm Hill received some well-deserved recognition. The star senior earned Second Team honors from both the coaches and media, and he was also named Illinois’ recipient of the Sportsmanship Award. Hill averaged 17.2 points, 5.4 rebounds, 3.1 assists, and 1.2 steals per game on the year.

Hill made yet another very strong case at First Team consideration, but that ultimately was never going to happen due to Illinois’ season. Bad teams rarely place names on that list, and that’s why a majority the 15 honorees come from better squads.

2016-17 All-Big Ten Men’s Basketball Team (Coaches)

First Team

Peter Jok (Iowa)
Melo Trimble (Maryland)
Nate Mason (Minnesota)
Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)
Ethan Happ (Wisconsin)

Second Team

Malcolm Hill (Illinois)
Derrick Walton Jr. (Michigan)
Miles Bridges (Michigan State)
Bryant McIntosh (Northwestern)
Bronson Koenig (Wisconsin)

Third Team

Thomas Bryant (Indiana)
Jordan Murphy (Minnesota)
Tai Webster (Nebraska)
Scottie Lindsey (Northwestern)
Nigel Hayes (Wisconsin)

Honorable Mentions

James Blackmon Jr. (Indiana)
Moritz Wagner (Michigan)
Nick Ward (Michigan State)
Jae’Sean Tate (Ohio State)
Vincent Edwards (Purdue)
Isaac Haas (Purdue)
Dakota Mathias (Purdue)
Corey Sanders (Rutgers)

All-Freshman Team

Jordan Bohannon (Iowa)
Tyler Cook (Iowa)
Miles Bridges (Michigan State)
Amir Coffey (Minnesota)
Tony Carr (Penn State)

Player of the Year: Caleb Swanigan (Purdue)

Defensive Player of the Year: Reggie Lynch (Minnesota)

Freshman of the Year: Miles Bridges (Michigan State)

Sixth Man of the Year: Nicholas Baer (Iowa)

Coach of the Year: Rick Pitino (Minnesota)