clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois Athletics announces members of inaugural Hall of Fame class

28 Fighting Illini will be inducted on Saturday, September 30.

Wisconsin Badgers v Illinois Fighting Illini Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The University of Illinois announced the creation of an Athletics Hall of Fame back in October, and on Thursday we finally received a list of inaugural inductees. Headlined by the likes of Dick Butkus and Harold ‘Red’ Grange, the full 28-member class contains representatives from 13 varsity sports.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, September 30 at the State Farm Center. The football team will host Nebraska in their Big Ten opener on the same day.

Statement from Josh Whitman

“I would like to thank the selection committee for its work in identifying the members of this inaugural Hall of Fame class. As you would expect, with more than 120 years of athletics excellence to consider, it was an incredibly difficult process to select this small, elite group. The Class of 2017 includes some of the greatest names in the history of American sports. Equally exciting, however, is that we have hundreds of additional candidates with Hall of Fame credentials. Although not everyone could be included in the first class, all who are deserving will one day be recognized with this special honor. Congratulations to the inaugural class of the University of Illinois Athletics Hall of Fame.”

2017 Illinois Athletics Hall of Fame Class

- Dick Butkus, Football (1962-64)
- Harold “Red” Grange, Football (1923-25)
- George Halas, Football/Basketball/Baseball/Contributor to Sport (1916-18)
- Nick Anderson, Basketball (1988-89)
- Dee Brown, Basketball (2003-06)
- Deron Williams, Basketball (2003-05)
- Jerry Colangelo, Basketball/Contributor to Sport (1960-62)
- Mannie Jackson, Basketball/Contributor to Sport (1958-60)
- George Huff, Football/Football Coach/Baseball Coach/AD
- Lou Boudreau, Baseball/ Basketball (1937-38)
- Tonja Buford-Bailey, Track and Field (1990-93)
- Dwight “Dike” Eddleman, Football/Track/Basketball (1943, 1947-49)
- Perdita Felicien, Track and Field (2000-03)
- Harry Gill, Track Coach (1904-29, 31-33)
- Abie Grossfeld, Gymnastics (1957-60)
- Karol Kahrs, Coach/Athletics Administration (1966-2000)
- Nancy Thies Marshall, Gymnastics (1976-77)
- Herb McKenley, Track & Field (1946-47)
- Allie Morrison, Wrestling (1927-29)
- Harold Osborn, Track & Field (1920-22)
- Andy Phillip, Basketball/Baseball (1942-43, 47)
- Renee Heiken Slone, Golf (1990-93)
- Steve Stricker, Golf (1986-89)
- Mary Eggers Tendler, Volleyball (1985-88)
- Craig Tiley, Tennis Coach (1992-2005)
- Craig Virgin, Cross Country (1973-77)
- Claude “Buddy” Young, Football/Track & Field (1944, 46)
- Robert Zuppke, Football Coach (1913-41)

For much more information on each individual inductee, make sure to check out the new Hall of Fame website that was created by the athletic department.