clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wes Lunt named to Manning Award Watch List

The senior was one of 30 quarterbacks to be named.

NCAA Football: Illinois at Purdue Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Illinois’ Wes Lunt received a fourth preseason mention on Monday afternoon as the Allstate Sugar Bowl named the senior to their 2016 Manning Award Watch List. While this is yet another ‘best quarterback’ award, the twist with this particular one is that it takes bowl performances into account.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only college football quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting; therefore, it is presented annually following the completion of the bowl season. The winner is selected by a panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

Including Lunt, the Big Ten had four players named to this initial list; the other representatives are Tommy Armstrong (Nebraska), J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), and C.J. Beathard (Iowa). 2015 Heisman Trophy finalist Deshaun Watson (Clemson) took home the Manning Award last season, and he’ll be looking to retain the honor this Fall.

2016 Manning Award Watch List

Tommy Armstrong, Sr., Nebraska
J.T. Barrett, Jr., Ohio State
C.J. Beathard, Sr., Iowa
Jake Browning, So., Washington
Joshua Dobbs, Sr., Tennessee
Dane Evans, Sr., Tulsa
Luke Falk, Jr., Washington State
Quinton Flowers, Jr., USF
Skyler Howard, Sr., West Virginia
Lamar Jackson, So., Louisville
Brad Kaaya, Jr., Miami
Chad Kelly, Sr., Ole Miss
Trevor Knight, Sr., Texas A&M
Taylor Lamb, Jr., Appalachian State
Wes Lunt, Sr., Illinois
Pat Mahomes, Jr., Texas Tech
Baker Mayfield, Sr., Oklahoma
Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss
Kent Myers, Jr., Utah State
Josh Rosen, So., UCLA
Mason Rudolph, Jr., Oklahoma State
Cooper Rush, Sr., Central Michigan
Seth Russell, Sr., Baylor
Brett Rypien, So., Boise State
Brandon Silvers, Jr., Troy
Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee
Zach Terrell, Sr., Western Michigan
Greg Ward Jr., Sr., Houston
Phillip Walker, Sr., Temple
Deshaun Watson, Jr., Clemson

Last season, Lunt passed for 2,761 yards and 14 touchdowns while only throwing 7 interceptions. He's also under early consideration for the Maxwell Award (top college player), Davey O'Brien Award (top quarterback), and Johnny Unitas Award (top quarterback).