clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois Football releases post-Spring depth chart at Big Ten Media Days

The first iteration does not include transfers and freshmen.

Mike Granse-USA TODAY Sports

The first depth chart of the Lovie Smith era is here! On Monday morning, the Fighting Illini released their post-Spring rotations at Big Ten Football Media Days in Chicago, giving us a glimpse at how the roster will be composed under their new head coach.

It's important to note, though, that both transfers and true-freshman haven't been included yet. That means potential impact players like senior linebacker Hardy Nickerson Jr. and senior defensive end Gimel President will likely overtake the starting slots come training camp.

I don't think there are too many surprises here, but it's interesting to note that Chayce Crouch still holds the backup QB role over Jimmy Fitzgerald and Jeff George Jr. Additionally, redshirt-freshman Gabe Megginson has been listed as the early starter at offensive guard; the former four-star prospect will continue to battle junior Zachary Heath for the spot this offseason.

Offensive Depth Chart
QB Wes Lunt (SR) Chayce Crouch (R-SO) Jimmy Fitzgerald (R-FR) OR Jeff George Jr. (R-FR)
RB Ke'Shawn Vaughn (SO) Reggie Corbin (R-FR) Kendrick Foster (R-JR)
WR1 Malik Turner (JR) Sam Mays (SO)
WR2 Justin Hardee (SR) Dionte Taylor (SR
WR3 Desmond Cain (SO) Zach Grant (SR)
TE Tyler White (SR) OR Andrew Davis (SR) Ainslie Johnson (SR) Caleb Reams (R-FR)
OT Austin Schimdt (SR) Jordan Fagan (JR)
OG Gabe Megginson (R-FR) Zachary Heath (JR)
C Joe Spencer (SR) Zeke Martin (R-FR) Harry Black (JR)
OG Nick Allegretti (R-SO) Connor Brennan (SR)
OT Christian DeLauro (R-JR) Adam Solomon (R-FR)
Defensive Depth Chart
DE1 Dawuane Smoot (SR) Brandon Roberts (JR)
DT1 Chunky Clements (SR) Jamal Milan (R-FR)
DT2 Robert Bain (SR) Tito Odenigbo (R-SO)
DE2 Carroll Phillips (SR) Henry McGrew (R-SO)
WLB James Crawford (JR) Justice Williams (R-FR)
MLB Tre Watson (SO) Mike Svetina (SR)
SLB Julian Jones (SO) Austin Roberts (SO)
CB1 Jaylen Dunlap (JR) Cameron Watkins (R-FR) Frank Sumpter (R-FR)
CB2 Ahmari Hayes Chris James (JR)
FS Caleb Day (SR) Julian Hylton (SO) Trenard Davis (R-FR)
SS Taylor Barton (SR) Darwyn Kelly (JR) Patrick Nelson (R-FR)
Nickel Dillan Cazley (SR) Darius Mosley (SR)
Specialists Depth Chart
K David Reisner (SR)
P Ryan Frain (SR) David Reisner (SR)
H Ryan Frain (SR) OR Zach Grant (SR)
LS Michael Martin (SR)