clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Malcolm Hill named Illinois' 2015-16 Most Outstanding Player

The basketball program held their end-of-year banquet on Monday night.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Fighting Illini basketball held their 94th annual banquet at the I Hotel on Monday night, and Malcolm Hill was named the team's Most Outstanding Player. The junior averaged 18.1 points, 6.6 rebounds, 3.3 assists, and 1.2 steals per game this year while shooting 43.6% from the field; those numbers were enough to earn him a Second Team All-Big Ten selection.

Hill was also the recipient of the Matt Heldman Award (most hustle plays), the Ralf Woods Free Throw Trophy, and the Illini Rebounders Award. So, yeah, he had a pretty decent season.

Here are all of the honorees from the banquet:

2015-16 Illinois Basketball Awards

Most Outstanding Player: Malcolm Hill

Most Improved Player: Maverick Morgan

Matt Heldman Award: Malcolm Hill & Maverick Morgan

Lou Henson Courage Award: Jalen Coleman-Lands

Orange Krush 3PT Shooting Award: Jalen Coleman-Lands

Ralf Woods Free Throw Trophy: Malcolm Hill

Illini Rebounders Award: Malcolm Hill

It's worth mentioning that Kendrick Nunn, Jaylon Tate, and Leron Black weren't in attendence at the gathering. The three players are in the middle of indefinite suspensions from the program.

Monday night was also a farewell to seniors Mike LaTulip (transferring), Khalid Lewis (graduation), and Mike Thorne Jr. (graduation). The Illini are still awaiting a NCAA response for Thorne's hardship waiver, but his return for another season is doubtful.

Once an Illini, always an Illini. Good luck in the future, guys!