clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois Wrestling: Isaiah Martinez finishes third in Dan Hodge Trophy voting

Ohio State's 4-time NCAA champion Logan Stieber wins college wrestling's Heisman Trophy.

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

For the first time this season, Isaiah Martinez didn't win.

Martinez was beat out by Ohio State's Logan Stieber, who was named the 2015 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy winner Monday.

Considered the Heisman Trophy for amateur wrestling, Stieber becomes the 21st winner of the award give to the nation's most dominant collegiate wrestler. He received 38 of 44 first-place votes from the Hodge Trophy Voting Committee.

Oklahoma State's two-time NCAA champion Alex Dieringer finished second in the voting with three first-place votes after capturing the 165-pound national title. Martinez finished in third after completing the first undefeated freshman season since Iowa State's Cael Sanderson did in 1999. North Carolina State's heavyweight Nick Gwiazdowski finished in fourth place after winning his second straight title.

Each committee member cast a ballot. The committee is compromised of former Hodge winners, retired college coaches from different regions of the country, representatives of national wrestling organizations and a panel of national wrestling media members. In addition, a fan voting was also held for a ballot.

Martinez averaged just under 17 points per match and outscored his opponents 487-162. He had five pins, NCAA Division I leading 11 technical falls and seven major decisions in his 35-0 redshirt freshman campaign.

The award is named after three-time Oklahoma national champion (1955-57) Dan Hodge, who never allowed a takedown in his college career. He also pinned 36 of his 46 opponents. WIN magazine founder Mike Chapman created the award in 1995 and wrote the 2010 biography of Hodge, "Oklahoma Shooter: The Dan Hodge Story."

Follow The Champaign Room on Twitter at @Champaign_Room and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Brandon Cain on Twitter at @BrandonMCain