clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois Wrestling: No. 9 Illini crushes Indiana

Illinois improves to 2-0 in Big Ten with 36-3 road victory

Courtesy of Illinois Athletics

The No. 9 Illinois wrestling team only allowed three points as they crushed Indiana 36-3 in Bloomington, Ind. on Sunday.

No. 4 Taylor Walsh was the lone victor for Indiana with a 4-2 decision over Illinois' (8-1, Big Ten 2-0) No. 8 Jackson Morse. Walsh was also the lone Hooiser winner against Penn State, and he also pinned Morse at the 52nd annual Midlands Championships during the semifinals before winning the 165 pound title.

Morse opened with a takedown in the second period and Walsh escaped for a 2-1 Morse lead. Walsh then escaped from bottom to start the third and grabbed a takedown for the win.

The dual started at 133 pound with Illinois' No. 6 Zane Richards taking an 18-8 major decision over Alonzo Shepherd. Richards pushed the action with two takedowns in the opening period and took a commanding 12-5 lead after the second. He closed the match with a reversal and two more takedowns.

Illinois' No. 19 Steven Rodrigues also grabbed two takedowns in the first before he poured it on for a 24-9 major decision over Sean Brown. On Friday, Rodrigues upset No. 7 Anthony Ashnault of Rutgers 2-0.

Kyle Langenderfer snatched a takedown in the first, and a reversal and another takedown in the second then held on for a 7-2 decision over Trevor Moody at 149 pounds. Indiana's Alex Gregory surprised the crowd by taking down No. 7 undefeated Isaiah Martinez, but then Martinez rebounded big. Martinez recorded one takedown in the first before increasing his lead to 24-11 heading into the third. He added a reversal and rode out Gregory for a 26-11 technical fall at 157 pounds.

No. 6 Zac Brunson had two takedowns on No. 19 Nate Jackson in the first, two escapes and another takedown in the second for a 9-4 lead. Jackson escaped, but Brunson rode him out for a 9-5 decision at 174 pounds.

At 184 pounds, No. 20 Nikko Reyes pinned Jake Masengale in 14 seconds then Jeff Koepke took a 4-2 decision over Luke Sheridan at 197 pounds. Koepke and Sheridan exchanged escaped in the second and third, respectively, then Koepke grabbed a takedown and held off Sheridan for the victory.

Indiana's Garret Goldman and Brooks Black also traded escaped to enter overtime tied 1-1. No points were awarded in the first overtime then Black escaped and won on riding time at heavyweight. Two-time defending national champion Jesse Delgado was absent again as Dominic Oliveri took a forfeit at 125 pounds.

The Illini will be back in action against No. 1 Iowa on Friday and No. 2 Minnesota on Sunday.

Meet Results

133: No. 6 Zane Richards (ILL) over Alonzo Shepherd (IND) (MD 18-8)
141: No. 19 Steven Rodrigues (ILL) over Sean Brown (IND) (MD 24-9)
149: Kyle Langenderfer (ILL) over Trevor Moody (IND) (Dec 7-2)
157: No. 7 Isaiah Martinez (ILL) over Alex Gregory (IND) (TF 26-11)
165: No. 4 Taylor Walsh (IND) over No. 8 Jackson Morse (ILL) (Dec 4-2)
174: No. 6 Zac Brunson (ILL) over No. 19 Nate Jackson (IND) (Dec 9-5)
184: No. 20 Nikko Reyes (ILL) over Jake Masengale (IND) (Fall :13)

197: Jeff Koepke (ILL) over Luke Sheridan (IND) (Dec 4-2)

285: Brooks Black (ILL) over Garret Goldman (IND) (2OT 2-1)

125: Dominic Olivieri (ILL) (FF)

Follow The Champaign Room on Twitter at @Champaign_Room and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Brandon Cain on Twitter at @BrandonMCain