clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin DuVernois and Mike Dudek are All-Big Ten

They're kind of a big deal.

Eric Francis/Getty Images

The 2014 All Big Ten Individual Honors were released earlier today, and the Illini are well represented by the coaches and the media!

Let's see who was honored with All Big Ten credentials this season:

Second Team All Big Ten:

(As selected by coaches AND media)

Justin DuVernois - Punter

Justin finished the regular season 3rd in the conference averaging 43.8 yards per punt.  He punted the ball 51 times in conference play for a total of 2,234 yards and a long of 74 yards.  This is the first time that Justin has been named with all Big Ten credentials, and he joins the company of:

Anthony Santella (2010 2nd Team Media/1st Team Coaches)

Steve Weatherford (2005 2nd Team Media&Coaches/2004 2nd Team Media, 1st Team Coaches/2003 Honorable Mention Team&Coaches)

Steve Fitts (2001 HM Media&Coaches/2000 HM Coaches/1999 HM Media&Coaches)

Honorable Mentions:

V'Angelo Bentley, Mike Dudek (coaches), Ted Karras, Mason Monheim, Jihad Ward


(As selected by just the media)

Mike Dudek - Receiver

There's not a lot to say about Mike that we haven't said already.  The guy can flat out play, and we're all excited to see how he grows and develops in years to come.  Mike finished this conference season 3rd in the Big Ten in receptions per game (5.8 catches per game), and receiving yards per game (80.4 per game).  Mike could also finish the season with over 1,000 receiving yards as he's only 35 yards away from breaking that record. Arrelious Benn was the last Illini freshman reciever to win any All-Big Ten credentials. Other recievers that have been named All-Big Ten are:

Steve Hull (2013 Honorable Mention Media&Coaches)

A.J. Jenkins (2011 1st Team Media&Coaches)

Arrelious Benn (2009 HM coaches/2008 1st Team Media, 2nd Team Coaches)

Walter Young (2002 HM coaches)

Brandon Lloyd (2002 2nd Team Media, HM coaches/2001 2nd Team media&coaches)

Honorable Mentions:

Taylor Barton, V'Angelo Bentley, Ted Karras, Mason Monheim


Big Ten Sportsmanship Award:

Reilly O'Toole - Quarterback

The Big Ten Sportsmanship award is awarded to one player on every team in the conference that displays exceptional character, positive leadership, and ethical behavior. No one embodies those qualities more than Reilly.  The senior quarterback lead the Illini to all 3 Big Ten victories this season and has been a vital leader on and off the field.