clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 College Football All-America Teams

The Associated Press has released their 2014 All-America Teams and the Illini have been snubbed.

Matthew O'Haren-USA TODAY Sports

The Associated Press released their 2014 All-American Teams on Monday morning. Before we get to their egregious mistakes, here are all three teams in their entirety:

The Associated Press All-America Team



Quarterback - Marcus Mariota (Oregon)

Running backs - Melvin Gordon (Wisconsin), Tevin Coleman (Indiana)

Tackles - Brandon Scherff (Iowa), Spencer Drango (Baylor)

Guards - Tre Jackson (Florida State), Laken Tomlinson (Duke)

Center - Reese Dismukes (Auburn)

Tight End - Nick O'Leary (Florida State)

Wide Receivers - Amari Cooper (Alabama), Rashard Higgins (Colorado State)

Kicker - Roberto Aguayo (Florida State)

All-Purpose Player - Shaq Thompson (Washington)


Ends - Joey Bosa (Ohio State), Vic Beasley (Clemson)

Tackles - Malcolm Brown (Texas), Danny Shelton (Washington)

Linebackers - Scooby Wright III (Arizona), Hau'oli Kikaha (Washington), Paul Dawson (TCU)

Cornerbacks - Senquez Golson (Mississippi), Ifo Ekpre-Olomu (Oregon)

Safeties - Landon Collins (Alabama), Gerod Holliman (Louisville)

Punter - Tom Hackett (Utah)



Quarterback - Trevone Boykin (TCU)

Running backs - James Conner (Pittsburgh), Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska)

Tackles - La'el Collins (LSU), Andrus Peat (Stanford)

Guards - Arie Kouandjio (Alabama), A.J. Cann (South Carolina)

Center - Hroniss Grassu (Oregon)

Tight End - Maxx Williams (Minnesota)

Wide receivers - Kevin White (West Virginia), Rashad Greene (Florida State)

Kicker - Brad Craddock (Maryland)

All-purpose player - Tyler Lockett (Kansas State)


Ends - Shane Ray (Missouri), Nate Orchard (Utah)

Tackles - Leonard Williams (Southern California), Robert Nkemdiche (Mississippi)

Linebackers - Eric Kendricks (UCLA), Benardrick McKinney (Mississippi State), Jaylon Smith (Notre Dame)

Cornerbacks - Vernon Hargreaves III (Florida), Jacoby Glenn (Central Florida)

Safeties - Jalen Ramsey (Florida State), Cody Prewitt (Mississippi)

Punter - JK Scott (Alabama)



Quarterback - J.T. Barrett (Ohio State)

Running backs - Jay Ajayi (Boise State), Samaje Perine (Oklahoma)

Tackles - Cedric Ogbuehi (Texas A&M), Jake Fisher (Oregon)

Guards - Shaquille Mason (Georgia Tech), Ben Beckwith (Mississippi State)

Center - Jack Allen (Michigan State)

Tight End - Clive Walford (Miami)

Wide receivers - Justin Hardy (East Carolina), Nelson Agholor (Southern California)

Kicker - Josh Lambert (West Virginia)

All-purpose player - J.J. Nelson (UAB)


Ends - Shawn Oakman (Baylor),  Randy Gregory (Nebraska)

Tackles - Michael Bennett (Ohio State), Eddie Goldman, (Florida State)

Linebackers - Denzel Perryman (Miami), Mike Hull (Penn State), Eric Striker (Oklahoma)

Cornerbacks - Trae Waynes (Michigan State), Kendall Fuller (Virginia Tech)

Safeties - Kurtis Drummond (Michigan State), Su'a Cravens (Southern California)

Punter - Austin Rehkow (Idaho)


What should you take away from this list? No Mike Dudek. No Justin DuVernois. No Reilly O'Toole. No credibility. Here's a better list:

TCR All-America Team



Quarterback - Reilly O'Toole (Illinois)*

Running backs - Melvin Gordon (Wisconsin), Tevin Coleman (Indiana)

Tackles - Brandon Scherff (Iowa), Large man #1

Guards - Large man #2, Large man #3

Center - Large man #4

Tight End - Jack Nicklaus' grandson (Florida State)

Wide Receivers - Mike Dudek (Illinois)*, Amari Cooper (Alabama)

Kicker - Roberto Aguayo (Florida State)

All-Purpose Player - ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ *


Ends - Joey Bosa (Ohio State), Steve Miller (Ohio State)

Tackles - Michael Bennett (Ohio State), Danny Shelton (Washington)*

Linebackers - Scooby Wright III (Arizona), Hau'oli Kikaha (Washington)*, Curtis Grant (Ohio State)

Cornerbacks - Doran Grant (Ohio State), Eli Apple (Ohio State)

Safeties - Tyvis Powell (Ohio State), Vonn Bell (Ohio State)

Punter - Justin DuVernois (Illinois)*

* denotes unanimous selection

NOTE TO SELECTED PLAYERS: You can expect your participation medals to arrive in the mail sometime this week.

Follow The Champaign Room on Twitter at @Champaign_Room and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Jim Vainisi on Twitter at @JVainisi005.