clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Illinois Football Award Banquet

Illinois Football held their annual award banquet this weekend. Seniors Reilly O'Toole and Earnest Thomas III were amongst the players recognized.

Mike Granse-USA TODAY Sports

The Fighting Illini had some business to take care of before their trip to the Heart of Dallas Bowl. On Saturday, the 113th annual Football award banquet was held at the I Hotel and Convention Center in Champaign; the Outstanding Offensive Player and Outstanding Defensive Player awards were among the honors handed out at the event.

Here's a list of this season's award winners:

Outstanding Offensive Player: Reilly O'Toole

Outstanding Defensive Player: Earnest Thomas III

Outstanding Special Teams Player: Justin DuVernois / Ralph Cooper

2014 Team Captains: Justin DuVernois, Reilly O'Toole, Austin Teitsma, Earnest Thomas III

Unsung Hero (Offense): Matt LaCosse / Donovonn Young

Unsung Hero (Defense)Davontay KwaaningZane Petty

Illinois Point Awards (based off season production points)
Offensive Skill (QB/WR): Justin Hardee
Offensive Big Skill (TE/RB/FB): Jon Davis
Offensive Line: Michael Heitz
Defensive Skill (CB/S): Clayton Fejedelem
Defensive Big Skill (LB/Star): Mason Monheim
Defensive Line: Austin Teitsma
Special Teams (return/coverage): Zepheniah GrimesTyler White

Wright Commitment to Excellence Award: Jon Davis
The Wright Commitment to Excellence Award is presented each year to a senior who has exemplified persistence in the face of obstacles to achieve success.

Bruce Capel Award: Jake Howe
The Bruce Capel Award is given to the Illini player who displays the most courage, dedication and accomplishment throughout the season.

Scholar-Athlete Award: Leslie Poole
Service Above Self Award: Alex HillDeJazz Woods
Illini Warrior Effort Award (Weight Room): Austin Teitsma
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Jim Nudera
Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Abe Cajuste
Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Zach Grant


For more on the awards, make sure to visit for more information on the awards.

Follow The Champaign Room on Twitter at @Champaign_Room and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Jim Vainisi on Twitter at @JVainisi005.