clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Parr Wins Big Ten Baseball Player Of The Year

The Illini outfielder is the eighth Illini baseball player to win the award.

Illinois Athletics

The Illini will begin play in the Big Ten Baseball Tournament on Wednesday, but before they get down to business in Minneapolis, they've got some hardware to collect.

On Tuesday it was announced that Illinois centerfielder Justin Parr had been named the Big Ten's Player of the Year. He is the eighth Illini to win the award and first to do so since catcher Lars Davis in 2007.

And none of this should come as a surprise. While Parr's school-record 33-game hitting streak was talked about this season, it wasn't the only impressive feat he accomplished. He led the Big Ten in batting average (.415), hits (85), RBI (51), OBP (.472), and total bases (125). He only managed to finish second in the conference in slugging percentage (.610) and triples (4).

Parr is also a semi-finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, which is like the Heisman Trophy of college baseball.

Parr wasn't the only Illini honored on Tuesday, either, as freshman pitcher Kevin Duchene was named the Big Ten's Freshman of the Year. Duchene went 8-1 with a 2.67 ERA this year.

As for the All-Big Ten Teams, Justin Parr was named to the first team along with first baseman David Kerian and shortstop Thomas Lindauer. Jordan Parr and Duchene were named second team while catcher Jason Goldstein joined Duchene on the All-Freshman Team.

Follow The Champaign Room on Twitter at @Champaign_Room and Like us on Facebook. You can follow Tom Fornelli on Twitter at @TomFornelli.